BITBL015 – Cartel – The Ransom EP

When I was in college (the first time), one of my favorite songs was “Luckie St.” A college roommate (later best man) and I used to roll the windows down when Will from Cartel told us too and we just thought it was the greatest.

I was asked about doing these covers at a time when I thought there was no chance of having access to the laser cutter, but I just had to find a way.

I clearly did find a way.

Joe from Company Ink is one of the greatest guys I’ve had a chance to work with and I wanted to go all out on what might be (still not sure) the last laser-cut covers I would do.

It took some playing around to get the gun barrel ‘just’ right, and then even more tinkering for the string-tie enclosure. I think these are just awesome (and I am a little bias but completely ok with that).

Five of these were auctioned off for charity months back, and the other five are long since spoken for. However, you can pick up a copy of the record itself (which comes in pretty neat packaging too) from Company Ink Records.

On to the pictures!

Leave a comment